Katrin Cartlidge Foundation Award will be presented Tonight

Katrin Cartlidge Foundation Award will present, this year curator, actor Danny Glover.

Danny Glover has been a commanding presence on screen, stage and television for more than 25 years. As an actor, his film credits range from the blockbuster LETHAL WEAPON franchise to smaller independent features, some of which Glover also produced. In recent years he has starred in an array of motion pictures including the critically-acclaimed DREAMGIRLS directed by Bill Condon and in the futuristic 2012 for director Roland Emmerich. In addition to his film work, Glover is highly sought after as a public speaker, delivering inspiring addresses and moving performances in such diverse venues as college campuses, union rallies and business conventions.

Glover has gained respect for his wide-reaching community activism and philanthropic efforts, with a particular emphasis on advocacy for economic justice and access to health care and education programs in the United States and Africa. For these efforts Glover received a 2006 DGA Honor and was honored with a 2011 “Pioneer Award” from the National Civil Rights Museum. Internationally Glover has served as a Goodwill Ambassador for the United Nations Development Program from 1998-2004, focusing on issues of poverty, disease and economic development in Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean. Glover was presented in 2011 with the prestigious Medaille des Arts et des Letters from the French Ministry of Culture and was honored with a Tribute at the Deauville International Film Festival. Currently Glover serves as UNICEF Ambassador.

In 2005 Glover co-founded NY based Louverture Films with writer/producer Joslyn Barnes. The company is dedicated to the development and production of films of historical relevance, social purpose, commercial value and artistic integrity. Among the films Glover has executive produced at Louverture are: the César-nominated BAMAKO, Sundance Grand Jury Prize and Oscar® and Emmy® nominated TROUBLE THE WATER, the award winning THE BLACK POWER MIXTAPE 1967-1975, and the 2012 Sundance Grand Jury Prize winner THE HOUSE I LIVE IN. He has also associate produced Elia Suleiman’s THE TIME THAT REMAINS, and the 2010 Cannes Palme d’Or winner UNCLE BOONMEE WHO CAN RECALL HIS PAST LIVES.

A native of San Francisco, Glover trained at the Black Actors’ Workshop of the American Conservatory Theatre. It was his Broadway debut in Fugard’s MASTER HAROLD…AND THE BOYS that brought him to national recognition and led director Robert Benton to cast him in his first leading role in 1984’s Academy Award-nominated Best Picture, PLACES IN THE HEART. The following year Glover starred in two more Best Picture nominated films: Peter Weir’s WITNESS and Steven Spielberg’s THE COLOR PURPLE. In 1987 Glover partnered with Mel Gibson in the first LETHAL WEAPON film and went on the star in three hugely successful LETHAL WEAPON sequels. Glover has also invested his talents in more personal projects including the award-winning TO SLEEP WITH ANGER which he executive produced and for which he won and Independent Spirit Award for Best Actor; BOPHA!¸MANDERLAY, MISSING IN AMERICA and the film version of Athol Fugard’s play BOSEMAN AND LENA. He also starred in THE ROYAL TENENBAUMS, SAW, SHOOTER, and DEATH AT A FUNERAL.

On the small screen, Glover won an Image Award, a Cable ACE Award and earned an Emmy nomination for his performance in the title role of the HBO Movie MANDELA. He has also received Emmy nominations for his work in the acclaimed miniseries LONESOME DOVE, the telefilm FREEDOM SONG and as a director he earned a Daytime Emmy nomination for SHOWTIME’S JUST A DREAM. Most recently, Glover was a co-star on the popular television series TOUCH and completed a role as Justice Thurgood Marshall in the HBO film MUHAMMAD ALI’S GREATEST FIGHT.

Motivated by Katrin’s inspiring presence, the Foundation’s work is to give new voices, new perspectives and visions a chance to be seen and heard. For the last nine years the Foundation has appointed a curator, selected from Katrin’s eclectic and extensive friends and colleagues, who in turn chooses a recipient for the annual bursary. The recipient is a new cinematic voice whose work, in some way, embodies Katrin’s integrity of spirit and commitment to independent film.

We are grateful for the generosity and vision of our curators to date; The actors Charlotte Rampling, Emily Watson and Stellan Skarsgard, directors Mike Leigh, Simon McBurney and Danis Tanovic, as well as John Lyons, Annie Nocenti and photographer Juergen Teller.

The recipient is presented with the Award, a cash bursary, at a special red carpet gala at the Sarajevo Film Festival.

The Foundation, through it’s trustees and patrons, also commits to helping the young filmmakers however they can, with practical and creative support.


Diana El Jeiroudi and Orwa Nyrabia (2012 – Jeremy Irons)
Hala Lotfy (2011 – Charlotte Rampling)
CINÉ INSTITUTE HAITI (2010 – Annie Nocenti)
Juanita Wilson (2009 – Stellan Skarsgard)
Faruk Šabanović (2008 – Danis Tanović)
Cary Fukunaga (2007 – John Lyons)
Eyas Salman (2006 – Simon McBurney and Juergen Teller)
Amy Neil (2005 – Emily Watson)
Greg Hall (2004 – Mike Leigh)


Peter Gevisser, Mike Leigh, Simon McBurney, Chris Simon and Cat Villiers.

Allison Anders, Rowan Atkinson, Jean Marc Barr, Lilo Baur, John Berger, Lex Braes, David Byrne, Ewen Bremner, Barbara Cartlidge, Michelle Cartlidge, Carolyn Choa, Theo Cook, Clint Dyer, David Gothard, Kate Hardie, Lodge Kerrigan, Beeban Kidron, Michael Lazo, Roland Legiarda-Laura, Alan Linn, John Lyons, Annie Nocenti, Andy Paterson, Simon Perry, Charlotte Rampling, Bingham Ray, Saskia Reeves, Ian Rickson, Harriet Robinson, Stellan Skarsgĺrd, Jim Stark, Becky Swift, Danis Tanovic, Juergen Teller, David Thewlis, Paul Trijbits, Lars Von Trier, Emily Watson and David Yates.


Katrin Cartlidge Foundation recipient 2015 Ran Huang
Danny Huston Returns to the Sarajevo Film Festival as the Curator of the Katrin Cartlidge Foundation 2015. and to Present Danis Tanovic's "Tigers"
Dyana Gaye Recipient of the Katrin Cartlidge Foundation Award
Katrin Cartlidge Foundation Award will be presented Tonight