Tribute To Joshua Oppenheimer

Sarajevo Film Festival proudly presented Tribute To Joshua Oppenheimer who joined us in Sarajevo to present his films that earned him a place among the most renowned filmmakers of today.

In the scope of the Tribute to Programme Oppenheimer meet Sarajevo Film Festival audience during a masterclass and Q&A session.

Joshua Oppenheimer's films THE ACT OF KILING and THE LOOK OF SILENCE will also be screened within the Dealing With the Past programme, and the participants will have the opportunity to meet this prominent filmmaker during a masterclass.

Born in 1974, USA, two-time Oscar® nominee Joshua Oppenheimer’s debut feature film, THE ACT OF KILLING (2014 Academy Award Nominee for Best Documentary), was named Film of the Year in the 2013 by the Guardian and the Sight and Sound Film Poll, and won 72 international awards, including a European Film Award, a BAFTA, an Asia Pacific Screen Award, a Berlinale Audience Award, and the Guardian Film Award for Best Film.

His second film, THE LOOK OF SILENCE (2016 Academy Award Nominee for Best Documentary), premiered at the 71st Venice Film Festival, where it won five awards, including the Grand Jury Prize, the international critics award (Prix FIPRESCI) and the European film critics award (FEDEORA Prize). Since then, THE LOOK OF SILENCE has received 72 international awards, including an Independent Spirit Award, an IDA Award for Best Documentary, a Gotham Award for Best Documentary, and three Cinema Eye Honors, including Best Film and Best Director.

Cinema Eye Honors named him a decade-defining filmmaker in 2016, and both his films as decade-defining films. In 2014, Joshua Oppenheimer was awarded a MacArthur Fellowship (popularly known as the “genius grant”).

In the previous years we paid tribute to the following film authors:  2016 Amat Escalante / 2015 Brillante Mendoza, Atom Egoyan / 2014 Michael Winterbottom / 2013 Cristi Puiu / 2012 Todd Solondz / 2011 Lucrecia Martel /  2010 Bruno Dumont / 2009 Jia Zhang-ke / 2008 Todd Haynes / 2007 Ulrich Seidl / 2006 Abel Ferrara, Béla Tarr / 2005 Alexander Payne / 2004 Dušan Makavejev, Gaspar Noé / 2003 Peter Mullan / 2002 Stephen Frears / 2001 Mike Leigh / 2000 Steve Buscemi.

“Tribute to” programme of the 29th Sarajevo Film Festival dedicated to Jesssica Hausner
The 28th Sarajevo Film Festival will host a retrospective of films by Sergei Loznitsa
Bono Vox and Wim Wenders on the Red Carpet of the 27th Sarajevo Film Festival
25th Sarajevo Film Festival to present Honorary Heart of Sarajevo Award, pay tribute to Pawel Pawlikowski
Tribute To: Nuri Bilge Ceylan